I Sit at the Piano

Standard

I was recently wandering through old folders in search of some lost document and came across a song I wrote almost two years ago.  I don’t write poems; I don’t write songs.  I suck at it and they frustrate me to no end.  But every once in a while, I give it a shot anyway, and of course, it’s always fun to write about writer’s block.  In any case, I wrote this one.  Based on the date I created the document, it must’ve been the summer my sister and I started a band called One Day.  I haven’t even dared to read it since I stumbled across it because I’m sure it will make me cringe, but you’re welcome to read it yourself.  It has no title and no tune; it is what it is.

(Sorry about the formatting, I don’t know how to get rid of the extra spacing between paragraphs in this program.)

 

I sit at the piano

Pen in hand

Waiting for thoughts

For words to come

 

The notes won’t come

The lines get stuck

I don’t know how to write this song

 

Give me words and melody

Help me say what i need to say

Give me release, let me be free

I want to write this song today

 

So many words

Just waiting to be said

Wanting to be heard

Wanting to be read

 

Bring me the notes

Let me be the one to say

Tell me your story

Show me the way

 

Give me words and  melody

Help me say what i need to say

Give me release, let me be free

I want to write this song today

 

I want inspiration

I want to be heard

Let me tell you my story

Then you can go or stay

 

But the notes won’t come

The lines get stuck

I don’t know how to write this song

 

Give me words and  melody

Help me say what i need to say

Give me release, let me be free

I want to write this song today

June 26, 2012

 

J

 

What do you think?

