Rejection

Standard

Image

 

This morning I opened my email to find a rejection letter:

Dear Jasmine,

 

Thank your very much for your submission to the Spring 2014 edition of The Pitkin Review. Our committee of editors has read through all of the submissions, and I regret to inform you that your piece The Art of Walking will not be appearing in this forthcoming edition.

 

Please understand that we take no pleasure in rejection, and we hope that you will continue submitting work to the Pitkin and elsewhere. Writers without piles of rejection letters either never submit anything for publication or simply haven’t been writing very long! In short, please don’t feel defeated. We thank you wholeheartedly for taking the time to submit your work!

 

Sincerely,
Marty Stegner

Editor In Chief, Pitkin Review

 

This is my second rejection letter ever.  I submitted a very short nonfiction piece to my school’s literary journal (The Pitkin Review).  When I submitted, I didn’t have high hopes for the piece—though I liked it and of course had some hope it would be published or else why bother?—but as the time passed and I waited to hear back, I built it up in my mind until I was almost positive they would have to accept it.  They didn’t.

I got another rejection a few years ago.  I submitted a short story I was rather pleased with to the Kolob Canyon Review (the literary journal of my alma mater).  I was very hopeful for that piece because it was some of my best work.  Technically, this was the second rejection from the Kolob, but when I submitted the previous year they said that I had submitted the wrong kind of work, so I don’t count it as a real rejection because they weren’t rejecting the work itself; they were rejecting the type of work which I submitted due to a miscommunication.

All great writers have piles of rejection letters.  I have two.  It’s a start.  It would be greatly preferable to have an acceptance letter, but at least I’m putting my work out there because if I don’t try, I’ll never get published.

J

P.S.  I find it a little funny that there’s a typo in the rejection letter.

One thought on “Rejection

What do you think?

